Foreverest

Home » TRAVEL GUIDE TO FINLAND » Last Summer in Turku, FINLAND

Last Summer in Turku, FINLAND

As you can see from my other post that I have started blogging only recently and I want to take this opportunity to reduce my “autumn depression” by sharing pictures from my trips this summer. All pictures were taken from my cellphone N8 so do not expect very artistic clicks. However I’m sure that the beautiful landscapes of Finland will pretty much make up for the lack of a good camera. At the time these pictures were taken, it was only for my personal collection, and I had not thought about blogging these back then therefore some pictures are of high quality and other are low.

The City of Turku is about 170kms from my home town Hämeenlinna on Southwest coast of Finland. I took a Bus to reach Turku from Hämeenlinna. During my trip to Turku, I stayed with my brother. The above pictures were taken at his Apartment which was decorated by his girlfriend. When I told her that the interior decoration looked nice she said that “you are the first man who said that!”

otos735

As I stood looking out of the balcony, I saw a lake in the distance behind the buildings, and decided to go down to see it since the day was so beautiful.

On my way, I got a closer look at the apartment buildings in the neighbourhood. Which one do you think looks the nicest?

24052012(23)

These were the typical houses after war.

24052012(27)

I crossed this neighborhood on my way to find the lake.

And entered this field…

22052012(9)

Then I followed these wooden planks on the water…

22052012(10)

 and kept walking…

Until I found this beautiful keep tower.

22052012(4)

I turned around and continued walking on a trail that I had found, I discovered that it wasn’t a forest but a reserved park. Spotted this tree along the way.

22052012(7)

Now the lake was in sight…New Folder2

As I followed the trail further, I reached the lake however the lake turned out to be the sea!

children's park

On my way back, I came across this Childrens’ park which had many activities for children.

As I left the Childrens' Park I saw this big sports ground, which had fields for tennis, football etc, and a new stadium was also under construction. I tried to take a panorama picture of the sports field but still couldn't fit all in it.

As I left the Childrens’ Park I saw this big sports ground, which had fields for tennis, football etc, and a new stadium was also under construction. I tried to take a panorama picture of the sports field, but still couldn’t fit all in it.

24052012(16)

Next day I went to the city center. Turku is the oldest city in Finland and throughout history it has been a Financial and Cultural center. Especially until the Great Fire of Turku in 1827which destroyed 75% of the city and then the center was moved to Helsinki.

24052012(4)

Due to its location, Turku is a popular commercial and passenger seaport with over three million passengers travelling through the Port of Turku each year to Stockholm and Mariehamn.

24052012(6)

Because of its long history it has been the site of many important events and has extensively influenced Finnish history.

24052012(1)
Aura River is infamous in Finland for its brown color.

Unlike the crystal clear water of Finland’s Lakes, this river has brown water as it is  turbid by surface runoff from nearby farms.


Take a closer look at the temperature displayed over the kiosk.

This Building is one of the 25% of the city, which was spared in the Great fire of 1827, mainly the western and southern portions were spared from fire..


I followed this path to reach behind the center of city.


A Park near the center of Turku City.

IMG-20120522-WA0005

One of the many old buildings which were restored after the Great Fire of Turku.

City Center, Turku.

otos722Considered to be the most important religious building in Finland, the Turku Cathedral has borne witness to many important events in the nation’s history and has become one of the city’s most recognizable symbols. 

24052012(5)

The cathedral is situated in the heart of Turku next to the Old Great Square, by the river Aura. Its presence extends beyond the local precinct by having the sound of its bells chiming at noon broadcast on national radio. It is also central to Finland’s annual Christmas celebrations.

The cathedral was badly damaged during the Great Fire of Turku in 1827, and was rebuilt to a great extent afterwards.

I’ll Continue my summer trips in the next post.

13 Comments

  1. i like the people on bicycles in front of that big building

  2. ajaytao2010 says:

    Beautiful Solitary Country, less people, less confusion, I love it

  3. Love Turku, spent a day there last year – touched the tip of the iceberg and will have to go back.

  4. dougstinson says:

    Nice travelogue. I have a real sense of the place.

  5. Luddy's Lens says:

    Thanks for the tour! 🙂 I love the old buildings.

  6. Kanerva says:

    Turku is such a great city – you’ve really captured the spirit!

Leave a Reply

